Welcome to the Risborough Area Portal

  Helping you find all you need to shop, live, work and play.

Local Government

Tiers of Local Government and their Responsibilities

Many residents get confused about the responsibilities of their local councils, this short guide aims to point you to the correct council to ensure that your comments, concerns and complaints reach the department that has the power to act.


Princes Risborough Town Council


Covering Princes Risborough, Monks Risborough, Whiteleaf, Askett, Casden, and Alscot

The Town Council’s responsibilities include pathway lighting, public parks, some grass cutting and maintaining some of the listed buildings such as the Market House.

Princes Risborough Town Council

The Princes Centre
Clifford Road
Princes Risborough
Bucks HP27 0DP
Tel: 01844 275912

Opening Hours

Monday to Friday – 10am to 3pm.

For more information please see the PRTC tab.


Wycombe District Council

 Wycombe_District_Council 50

Wycombe District Council is responsible for waste collection, housing and planning.

Wycombe District Council also own and manage The Horns Lane and Mount Car Parks. Please note that since 22 September 2011 all on-street parking locations within Wycombe district have been enforced by NSL Ltd.

You can contact NSL by email; transportforbuckinghamshire@nsl.co.uk or by calling 0843 208 5544.


Princes Risborough District Councillors are Alan Turner (Ind), Gary Hall (Ind) and David Knights (Con) Alan and Gary are also Princes Risborough Town Councillors.


Wycombe District Council has an Information Centre located within Princes Risborough Library.
Tel: 01844 274795 Fax: 01844 275795

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday 9am – 5pm,
Thursday 10am – 5pm
Saturdays 9am – 1pm.

Concessionary travel passes – bus, rail or taxi tokens

Reporting Repairs – council house or highway.

Staff at The Information Centre will help with ALL of the following:

• Payments for rent, council tax, community call service etc.

• Environmental Health – smoke, noise, pest control bookings etc.

• Housing and Council Tax – queries and benefits

• Planning – local development and planning permission

• Waste and Cleansing – bio bags, missed collections, booking of bulky collections, ordering new bins, clinical collection bags etc.

• Tourism – places to visit, accommodation, things to do, tickets for local events, maps, guide books, souvenirs, local crafts etc.


Bucks County Council

BCC Swan

Bucks County Council is responsible for Education, Highways and Social Services.

The Risborough’s County Councillor is Bill Bendyshe-Brown.

Some of our surrounding villages are included in the Ridgeway West ward and the County Councillor is Carl Etholen.


Local Village Parish Councils


Bledlow-Cum-Saunderton Parish Council

 Bledlow-cum-Saunderton Parish Council covers Bledlow, Bledlow Ridge and Saunderton.

Ellesborough Parish Council

Dedicated purely to Ellesborough.

Kimble Parish Council

Kimble Parish Council covers Marsh, Kimblewick, Little Kimble and Great  Kimble.

Lacey Green Parish Council

Lacey Green Parish Council Covers the villages of Lacey Green, Loosley Row, Speen and Great Hampden.


Longwick cum Ilmer Parish Council serves the villages of Longwick, Ilmer, Meadle, Owlswick and part of Horsenden.